Hunters Hill Public School is one of the oldest schools in New South Wales, having been established in 1870. We have a rich history of providing quality education.
“Once home to the colony’s first bushrangers and later a French Village, today’s Hunters Hill is a quiet link with a past of garden-blessed houses and tree-shaded streets.
Hunters Hill forms a peninsula between two rivers flowing into Sydney Harbour, and was named after Captain John Hunter who came here with the First Fleet in 1788.
William Wright bought land in Hunters Hill from Ambrose Foss in the Mount St area. Wright donated land for Hunters Hill Public School and the original buildings were a gift from the community. The 'sandstone' building at the front of the school, in Alexandra St, is an excellent example of a Gothic-Style school that was designed by the architect G A Mansfield.
In 1875 Wright further subdivided his land bounded by Mount St, Alexandra St, and Stanley Road. The subdivision was developed with houses notably the fine stone house Eulbertie (1878).
Eulbertie was built in 1878 and later purchased in 1965 by the Department of Education.
Now a uniquely stunning dual classroom building adding to the beauty and character that is, Hunters Hill Public School.
Due to a rapid increase in enrolments in 1965, the Department purchased an old house “Eulbertie” located next-door, in spacious grounds, from the Marshall Family.
This provided another 2 classrooms and playground space for the 205 Primary students and 167 infant students in attendance.